Consultant in Africa – Part 1: Nairobi National Park, Orphaned Elephants and Lots of Giraffes

I’ve ended up in Nairobi, Kenya. I’m helping customer with their VSX setup here, but as the schedule is very laid back African style, we are not in a hurry and there is plenty of times to do and see this beautiful country.

Yesterday I went to see Nairobi National Park. What’s so cool in this park is that it’s located just 7 kilometers from downtown Nairobi and you can see plenty of animals there. I had booked Lion Trails Safaris to take me around.

Image

Entrance to Nairobi National Park

Image

One of the first animals we saw was this giraffe. It was eating just next to the road.

Image

Yeah, it’s an ostrich… It’s so weird to see them in their natural habitat. They have not been brought from somewhere, but they just live here. It’s their home. Cool! 🙂

Image

Image

We saw a lot of different antilopes: impalas, gasellis gerenuks…Image

Image

Image

Image

African buffalo

Image

Image

We went to hippo pool, but didn’t spot any hippos there. According to the park ranger it was too chilly morning for them to be in the water. We did see their tracks and signs that a rhino has been there just 15 minutes ago or so… Anyway, this guy was very nice and took me to the pools.

Image

Later we did see some hippos, but from very far to get a sufficient picture with my lousy equipment. Anyway, here is one try:

Image

I’m going to Amboseli national park next weekend and according to my driver we should see more hippos there…

This guy’s closest relative is elephant (doesn’t look like an elephant to me)… Don’t recall the name of it though. Image

We also saw a lot of birds including quite a few vultures…Image

Image

Sign on a picnic plaza

Image

These are not baboons, but black-faced monkeys.Image

These are baboons…

Image

We also went to David Sheldrick Elephant Orphanage where they keep orphaned baby elephants until they are released back to nature. This can be really long project as and elephant must be 8-15 years before it can manage by itself in the nature. So, the elephants are kept so many years in the orphanage and when released it takes another 5 years for them to get used to live free in the nature without help from humans.

This guy is only one and half months. His mother is a victim of poachers (as almost all elephants in the orphanage).Image

They are fed from the elephant sized bottles…

Image

They kinda love to take mud baths…Image

Image

After seeing the baby elephants we went to ivory burning site…

Speechless…

Image

Image

Image

Before leaving the national park we came across with a pack 13 giraffes.

Image

Image

Image

This guy was lying on the road. It’s the most dangerous snake in Africa called Puff Adder. According to some statistics it’s responsible of more fatalities than any other African snake. I was happy to be safely inside car…

Image

After leaving the Nairobi national park we went to Nairobi giraff center, the home of the most endangered subspecies of giraff, the Rochild’s Giraffe. Those guys have quite a long tongue I relalized…

Image

This one is baby, only 3 years and still so “small”. Giraffes can live about 28 years and they grow until they reach the “final goal” of about 5 meters.

Image

It was quite an experience in only one day and next weekend I’m heading to Amboseli. My driver, Oliver was awesome and knew the names off all different birds and other animals  A taxi driver told me today that Amboseli is much better than Nairobi National Park as the animals come much closer there… Let’s see, but this was already quite stunning.

Today I was at the customer and realized that they have some delays due to their new data center and that I’m not able to complete everything I was supposed to do this week. Well, this is not the first time when this happens, but here in Nairobi I kinda think I will find something to do while customer is troubleshooting their routing and servers… 🙂

My taxi driver will pick me up tonight and take me to a 24/7 shopping mall. Let’s see if I can find some souvenirs…

Leave a Reply

